New Updates

Friday, October 11, 2019

List of Nobel Prize Winners in 2019

List of Nobel Prize Winners in 2019
The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in several categories by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel established the prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2019 :
William G. Kaelin Jr., Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza won the 2019 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine. The trio “identified molecular machinery that regulates the activity of genes in response to varying levels of oxygen,” according to The Nobel Assembly. Their work, says the Assembly, has “paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anemia, cancer and many other diseases.”

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2019:
Nobel Physics Prize has announced on 8 October 2019 at The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Kungl. Vetenskapsakademien, KVA), Sessionssalen, Lilla Frescativägen 4A, Stockholm. Nobel Prize of Physics is awarded to James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Quelo.
The Nobel Prize in Physics 2019 was awarded “for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth’s place in the cosmos” with one half to James Peebles “for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology”, the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz “for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.”
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019: 
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 was awarded jointly to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2019 rewards the development of the lithium-ion battery. This lightweight, rechargeable and powerful battery is now used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles. It can also store significant amounts of energy from solar and wind power, making possible a fossil fuel-free society. The three scientists have all worked to develop and advance lithium-ion batteries, now-ubiquitous technology which the Nobel Assembly said has “laid the foundation of a wireless, fossil fuel-free society.”

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2019:
Year 2019 : Peter Handke awared Nobel literature Prize this Year . He was awarded for “for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience.”
Year 2018 : Olga Tokarczuk awared Nobel literature Prize for Year 2018 . She was awarded for “for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life.”
The two awards were both given out this year because last year’s announcement was canceled in the midst of sexual assault allegations.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2019: 
The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed for his work to bring an end to a long-running border dispute between his country and neighboring Eritrea. Announcing the prize in Oslo, the Norwegian Nobel Committee said Abiy's "efforts deserve recognition and need encouragement." The conflict between Ethiopia and Eritrea over disputed border territory came at a huge financial and humanitarian cost for both countries.

The Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences 2019:

Indian-American Abhijit Banerjee, his wife Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer jointly won the 2019 Nobel Economics Prize on Monday "for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty."
Banerjee, 58, was educated at the University of Calcutta, Jawaharlal Nehru University and Harvard University, where he received his PhD in 1988.He is currently the Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, according to his profile on the MIT website.
PSC Degree Level Questions & Answers - Click here
PSC LDC/LGS Questions & Answers - Click here
PSC Solved Question Papers ---> Click here 

No comments: